Tuesday, 2 September 2014

Memorabilia from the tug Taioma

"Welcome aboard the tug Taioma," signboard from Tauranga District Museum & Historic Village
Courtesy of the Katikati Heritage Collection
Within the Katikati Heritage Museum's collection are many items which fall into the memorabilia category of artefacts, including two pieces which appear to date from the 1970s, when the former harbour tug Taioma was resident at Tauranga's Historic Village and District Museum.

The tug Taioma in Wellington Harbour
Image courtesy of Tyne Tugs and Tug Builders
Built at Aberdeen in 1944, it first saw service with the British Ministry of War Transport as the Empire Jane.  Only three years later it was purchased by the Union Steam Ship Co. of New Zealand Ltd., who renamed it the Taioma.  Among its exploits was an involvement in the attempted rescue of the ill fated inter-island ferry Wahine.

Taioma Donation Box
Courtesy of the Katikati Heritage Collection
In 1978 it was decommissioned and in March 1979 rehoused at the Tauranga District Museum, where a fee of 50c per person was charged for tours.  This was not  sufficient, it appears, "to offset tug maintenance," as is demonstrated by the somewhat simplified model of the Taioma used as a donations box.

Bob Owens speaking in front of the tug ‘Taioma’ 14 April 1979
Courtesy of Tauranga City Library's Tauranga Memories Kete
In 1999 part of the superstructure and most of the fittings were removed, and the Taioma was scuttled off the southern tip of Motiti Island on 19 March as a diving attraction.

References
Tyne Tugs and Tug Builders
The Taioma Tug, Tauranga Memories Kete

Sunday, 31 August 2014

August 2014 Newsletter

Lecture Series: Sons of Empire

The lectures commence on Wednesday 17 September at 6.30 pm at the Bongard Centre, BOP Polytechnic, Cameron Road, and run every Wednesday for eight weeks. The introduction to the series will be by our President, Stephanie Smith, and the Deputy Vice Chancellor of the University of Waikato, Alister Jones. The speaker on that night will be Dr Kirstine Moffat whose topic is “The Monstrous Anger of the Guns: Poetry, Protest, and WWI”. The regular Sunday meetings will not be held in September and October as we wish to support the lecture series.

Wednesdays
17 Sept - Kirstine Moffat – “Poetry, Protest, and WW1”
24 Sept - Fiona Kean – “Public Opinion in Tauranga from ‘Letters to the Editor’”
1 Oct - Stephanie Smith – “The diary of a BOP Camelier”
8 Oct - Sue Baker Wilson – “NZ Engineers Tunnelling Company”
15 Oct - Dr Damien Fenton – “The Mundane Realities of Trench Warfare”
22 Oct - Dr Nathalie Philippe – “The Liberation of Le Quesnoy”
29 Oct - Dr Cliff Simons – “The Gallipoli Campaign”
5 Nov - Dr Mark Houlahan – “Kiwis and the Shakespeare Hut, London”

Bookings are ESSENTIAL. Please book early to ensure a seat at this free series. Email nyree@waikato.ac.nz. Enquiries phone 027 2867454.

Convalescent NZ soldiers on roof of Aotea Home in Egypt, 1918
Tyne Cot Commonwealth Cemetery, France
Guides in Brain Watkins House

Please, please volunteer to be a Guide. With fewer than ten guides it is very difficult to provide a roster to open the house each Sunday. This winter has been quite busy with local and overseas visitors. Guiding is not a difficult task, and is an interesting way to spend a Sunday afternoon, for guides as well as visitors. It’s also a good way of reaching the young: we recently had visits from two classes from Matua School and found the children very interested in how people lived in the past. The theme they were studying was change and the contents of the house illustrate that well.

The Society has 132 members of whom ten are on the committee and ten are guides, with four being both committee members and guides. We need more. With more people helping, the roster will be less demanding on the loyal few. All new guides are trained then rostered with experienced guides.

Loss of Members

This year the Society has lost two of its significant members. Jinty Rorke, the well-known historian and former librarian, died after a short illness in February and is missed by those of us who respected her breadth of knowledge of local history. More recently Bryan Teasey died. A great-grandson of Joseph and Kate Brain, Bryan donated some family artefacts to the Society over the years and made generous monetary donations each year.

The Brain Watkins Hall

Our facility here is very useful for small groups to hire at a very reasonable cost. If you have connections with other groups interested in a central city venue please phone Meri Low on 578 4048 for further details.

Forthcoming Events

17 September – first Lecture in “Sons of Empire” series
2 November – Sunday meeting to discuss the Strategic Plan and agree on the subscription for 2015
7 December – the Society’s annual Christmas Luncheon – details available later
1 February 2015 – the Annual  General  Meeting. Please think about serving on the committee or standing as an officer of the Society.
1 March 2015 – Jazz in the Garden, our annual fundraiser.  We passed on all of our unsold books this year to another charity so will start our book stall afresh. So please put aside your surplus books for a good cause – the care and preservation of the Brain Watkins House.

Tuesday, 26 August 2014

Swimwear in the 1920s

Black woolen men's swimsuit, Pacific brand, c. 1920s-1930s
Courtesy of the Katikati Heritage Collection
One of the items in the Katikati Heritage Museum's small collection of vintage clothing is this men's  swimsuit.  Branded with a green fern logo and the name "Pacific," it was probably made, and used, in the 1920s and 1930s.  One-piece "elastic" knitted wool suits became common after the Great War,  and the American Association of Park Superintendents' official 1917 Bathing Suit Regulations specified that men’s suits should have a skirt that covered the shorts.  By the mid-1930s they were being manufactured with Lastex, a woven satin finish elastic and silk material.  The Australian swimming team caused an uproar at the 1936 Olympics by wearing bare-chested Speedo shorts. (Vintage Mens Swimwear by Collector's Weekly)

Group at the beach, Lake Winnipeg, Canada, 1921
This photograph taken in 1921 shows a range of woolen swimming attire, including two men's one-piece costumes very similar to that in the museum's collection.  (The handsome man at the right with a cigarette hanging from his lips is the author's grandfather.)

Post Script (31 Aug 2014):


Society member Shirley Arabin has sent in this snapshot of her father-in-law wearing a bathing suit on Mount Maunganui Main Beach.

Friday, 22 August 2014

Presbyterian Manse, Spring Street, Tauranga


St Peter's House, corner Spring/Selwyn Streets, Tauranga, April 2013
Courtesy of Google Earth
View Larger Map

The first Presbyterian service in the Tauranga district was held in 1868 and the first church, St. Peter’s, was built in 1878. The term ‘manse’ appears to be an exclusively Presbyterian name for the residence of a minister, as opposed to the Anglican vicarage, or the Catholic rectory. During the first years the congregation rented a house at £30 per annum for the minister and in 1881 the idea was raised to build a manse (1).  However, by 1883 opinion had changed and it appears that the church owned two sections, lots 389 and 390 and leased them to TR Gillman for 21 years because “after carefully considering the matter and the improbability of utilising them for Manse purposes …” they were not needed (2).  However, it was on lot 389 that the manse was eventually built.

The Tauranga newspaper must have raised interest again in the early 1890s when it became known that congregations looked towards building their own manses in Opotiki, Rotorua and Whangarei.
JW Gray gifted an allotment to the church and a serious effort commenced to raise funds and build a manse. By charging entry to a lecture on “Memory” and having a sale of work and produce more funds were raised (3).  At the sale of work a wood sawing competition for women and a hat trimming competition for men provided entertainment as well (4).  A lecture on”Japan and the Japanese” concluded with a collection for the manse fund (5).  E Mahoney & Sons of Auckland designed the church but it was G Arnold Ward, a Tauranga architect who called for tenders to the erect the manse. There was an existing building on the site that needed to be removed. As well as local fundraising a loan of £360 from the Century Fund of the Presbyterian Church enabled it to go ahead. John Conway, a Tauranga builder erected the house at a cost of £497.0.0.

A version of the popular gable- and verandah-fronted villa, the Presbyterian Manse still stands today on the corner of Spring and Selwyn Streets in Tauranga. Accounts at the time record it with eight, nine or ten rooms, but even so it was considerably larger than the average villa. The Rev. W Gillies was the first occupant and the last was Rev. Hooker. For the last five or six years the building has been used as a social work centre, St Peter's House. Although not registered with Heritage New Zealand (formerly NZ Historic Places Trust) the former manse is listed in the Tauranga City Council’s Annual Plan in the heritage section. This actually provides more protection for the building than registration with Heritage NZ.

References

(1) Bay of Plenty Times, 10 February 1881
(2) Bay of Plenty Times, 17 March 1883
(3) Bay of Plenty Times, 7 April 1901
(4) Bay of Plenty Times, 29 April 1901
(5) Bay of Plenty Times, 30 September 1901

Tuesday, 19 August 2014

Shaving in the 20th century

Sunbeam Shavemaster Model "R" electric razor, possibly a demonstration model, c.1937-1945
Courtesy of the Katikati Heritage Collection
Included within the Katikati Heritage Museum's collection are a huge number of household/domestic items.  This early men's Sunbeam Shavemaster electric dry razor from the 1940s (the first Sunbeam electric razor was released in 1937) appears to be a demonstration model, complete with instructional display.

Advertisement for Sunbeam Shavemaster, Life magazine, 23 October 1944
Magazine advertisements of the period, such as the one above from an October 1944 issue of Life, in particular targeted soldiers on service abroad.

Puma cut-throat razor
Courtesy of the Katikati Heritage Collection
Leather sharpening strops
Courtesy of the Katikati Heritage Collection
The standard alternative for those without either the means to purchase such a luxury, or access to an electrical socket, was of course the standard cut-throat razor, sharpened at frequent intervals on a leather strop.  This particular type was manufactured in Solingen, Germany by Puma-Werk, "knifemakers to the world since 1769."

Philips Ladyshave electric razor, c. 1980s
Courtesy of the Katikati Heritage Collection
Philips still produce Ladyshave electric razors, the first models using this brand having been released by at least the late 1950s, but this version appears to be from a couple of decades later.